WhatsApp is working to introduce a new ‘Delete Messages’ feature (also referred to as Self-disappearing Messages) that automatically deletes/destructs the sent messages after a pre-determined time period.
However, contrary to earlier reports, popular tipster WABetaInfo has said that the feature is being offered as a cleaning tool for group chats and it won’t be available for individual users.
Group admins will have access to the feature :-
The ‘Delete Messages’ tool will be available under the Group Settings menu and admins can use it to clean the chat group.
As per WABetaInfo, admins will be able to select a time frame for which they want the messages to last before they get automatically deleted.
Notably, admins will also have the option to turn off the feature.
Admins will have five time intervals to choose from :-
Group admins will get five options to set the timer for self-disappearing messages: 1 hour, 1 day, 1 week, 1 month, and 1 year. So, if an admin selects the 1-hour option, every message sent in that particular chat will disappear after an hour.
The feature won’t leave a trace on deleted messages :-
Unlike the existing ‘Delete for Everyone’ option available on WhatsApp, the ‘Delete Messages’ feature doesn’t leave a trace. So, when you manually delete a message, the chat window shows that the message has been deleted. But with the ‘Delete Messages’ feature, no such information will be displayed…Read more>>