NEW DELHI: Love the WhatsApp’s ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature? But wish you had a longer window to delete messages? The Facebook-owned company has heard you. According to the website WABetaInfo and independently tested by Gadgets Now, WhatsApp users can now delete messages for everyone sent within 4096 seconds. This means 68 minutes and 16 seconds. The feature is, however, so far only available only for Android smartphone users. Apple iPhone (iOS) users will have to wait.
This means WhatsApp users, which only had 7 minutes or 420 minutes on Android now have 68 minutes (approximately) to recall/delete their messages. The feature will come with WhatsApp Beta for Android 2.18.69 (we also found it in 2.18.71). It is not for sure when exactly this feature will be reaching the non-beta Android users or iPhone users.
According to WABetaInfo, WhatsApp beta for Android 2.18.69 may crash while you try to send GIFs. It adds that users will need to wait for the next Beta to get this issue fixed.
Furthermore, the report talks about the WhatsApp Android beta version 2.18.70 and 2.18.71.
In addition to the new time limit for ‘Delete for everyone’ feature, users also get locked voice recording feature. This shows up when you tap and hold on the mic. Once tapped, you will see a new UI wherein you would have to drag the icon upwards to lock voice recording.
The report claims that in the next release users may get the option to hear their recordings before sending it. In future WhatsApp may also show us the size of the sticker pack that you are about to download.
Few days ago we saw WhatsApp testing the Group Descriptions feature. As the name suggests, this feature enables users to add up to 500 characters’ description for any group. Not only the admin(s) but other members of group can also add the description.
Source by gadgetsnow…Share: